Alone On An Island

Imagine living on an abandoned island. No really, imagine it. I sure don’t have to. To save you time I’ll just tell you. It starts like this… you wake up to the blinding sun, and go to bed, well when you fall asleep. Before I tell you about I this miserable island I’ll tell you how I got here. I woke up in the morning as usual, in my bed and got ready for the day. I had made plans with my friends to take my dads boat for a ride but I soon regretted it. The dock was empty, surprisingly so I waited there for a few minutes hoping my friends would show up. I suddenly get a call and this is when things went badly. My friend Kylie had been calling me for like five minutes. When I finally answer the phone she says, “Finally!” and “I’ve literally been calling for hours!”

“Sorry, I didn’t see it. What’s wrong? Why aren’t you guys here?” I said.

”My parents caught me.”

”Oh.”

”I told Maya we shouldn’t go anymore, there’s supposed to be a storm tonight and I don’t think it’s a good idea to be in the ocean.”

”Oh ok, let’s make plans another time then.” Which is what I said but I had planned to use that boat. And that’s what I did. Im at least glad I brought snacks and water because I would definitely thank myself later. It was great until the brightness of the sun was blocked by stormy clouds moving in and the waves picked up. Oh no, I thought. The waves started splashing into the boat, tossing me from each side of the boat to the other. The only thing I could do was find a spot to dock but I was to far from the dock. I couldn’t see much in the distance but a little island. Yes! Water droplets began to drip down my face and hair into the boat, the wind was no longer a breeze but what felt like a tornado. Trying to dodge the debris flying in the wind, I failed. Whack!

WHEN I WOKE UP I was no longer in the middle of the ocean but sprawled across the wet floor of the boat. The boat was not in the ocean. It was on the sand of a small island! I did it! Well I did what I could. The storm had cleared up after I got to the shore of the island. I had enough food to last me two days at the most before I had to search for food on the island if necessary. Calling my parents would probably be the best option if I had service and a phone, but no. There’s no service on an abandoned and my phone wasn’t in the boat when I woke up so I hope all those fish are getting great use of it.

The island isn’t huge just about the size of half a football field. There is a little cove with rocks and crystal clear water to the left of where my boat was and thin palm trees were the only source of shade to block the sun from blinding you in the morning. Because I didn’t know how long I’m going to be here I made a small little shelter from storm debris and palm tree leaves. The stormy weather passed and the sun seeps through the thin palm tree leaves, making it extremely hard to not drink all my water. So far I’ve only eaten half a sandwich which I ate yesterday when I got here. I still have half a sandwich, a pack of gummies, slightly mushed strawberries, and about half a jug of of water left. I do think the amount of food and water will last me until, hopefully, I am rescued but I’m not sure when that will be. Around what felt like lunchtime, I started looking for some kind of signal and I found a bunch of rocks and seashells. I placed the shells and rocks to create a message that said “SOS” hoping that someone my see it. While I haven’t even been here for a full day I am very optimistic about my parents and friends finding me.


One thought on “Alone On An Island

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *